Skip to main content

LSAT Test Structure

The LSAT test structure consists of five 35 minute sections of multiple-choice questions and is designed to measure essential skills for success in law school.

The test consists of five sections: one Reading Comprehension section, one Analytical Reasoning section, two Logical Reasoning sections and one unscored section where test makers pilot new questions.

Reading Comprehension

These questions measure your ability to read, with understanding and insight, examples of lengthy and complex materials similar to those commonly found in law school curriculums. This section contains four sets of reading questions. Each set has a selection of reading materials, followed by five to eight questions to test reading and reasoning abilities.

Analytical Reasoning

These questions measure your ability to understand a structure of relationships and to draw logical conclusions about that structure. You are asked to make deductions from a set of statements, rules, or conditions that describe relationships among entities such as persons, places, things, or events. They simulate the kinds of detailed analyses of relationships that a law student must perform in solving legal problems.

Logical Reasoning

These questions are designed to evaluate your ability to understand, analyze, criticize, and complete a variety of arguments. Each logical reasoning question requires you to read and comprehend a short passage, then answer a question about it. The questions test a variety of abilities involved in reasoning logically and thinking critically.


Four of the five sections contribute to the test taker’s score. The un-scored section is usually used to experiment new test questions or forms. Identification of the unscored section is not available until you receive your score report.
In addition, there is a 35-minute, unscored writing sample at the end of the test. Copies of your writing sample will be sent to all the law schools that you apply to.

Your LSAT score is based on the number of questions answered correctly. Raw scores are converted to an LSAT scale that ranges from 120 to 180. This is done through a statistical procedure known as equating, which adjusts for minor differences in difficulty between test forms.

We are here to help

Have a query? Want to clarify something? Fill in the following form and we will call you back within 24 hours.


By submitting this form, I agree to Prep Zone Academy’s Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.